I’m sure we all know some people who really hate this anime. There are probably just as many who love it(and hate that first group of people). But is it really as good, or as bad, as people say? Let’s find that out right now.

So I’m gonna start with why people hate it so much. Why is it so terrible in their eyes? The first thing that comes to my mind is probably the plot holes. Like in episode 4 when the guild Titan’s Hand attacked Kirito. One of them was wielding an axe in each hand. But later on Kirito gains the dual wielding skill. He’s supposedly the only one who has it so how could that guy use two axes? Also why didn’t that guy in episode 2 drink the potion Kirito tried giving him. There was really no reason for him to die. Another thing in episode 2. It was never really explained why Kirito decided to play the bad guy. Of course, anyone could probably guess it was probably to take the blame off the other beta testers. But that was never even hinted at in the anime. I’ve heard it was better in the light novels so maybe you should go read those.

There’s also the problem of Kirito’s plot armor. No matter how bad the situation is it never really feels like he’s in danger. Stuff like that really takes away from the story for me. It’s just not as exciting or suspenseful when you know the main character can’t die. People do die but in my opinion it never has much importance or really adds anything to the story.

Now, on to the good parts of the series. Wait, those actually exist!? Of course they do, no matter how much you hate something there’s always going to be someone out there who likes it just as much. I think one of the best parts is the animation. It’s pretty good throughout the show especially in the fight scenes. Which were probably my favorite part of the whole show. Kirito being overpowered and having plot armor did take away from it a little but overall I enjoyed the fights.

So does it suck or is it actually good? The answer is both, and neither. There are good parts to it as well as bad ones. All these parts come together to make an overwhelmingly average show. If you’re looking for an anime with a really good story this isn’t the one for you. But if you’re someone who just wants to “turn your brain off” and enjoy something, this just might be the anime for you. Because it’s something that you probably won’t enjoy if you think about it too much.

But where do I stand? Well I’m somewhere in the middle. I realize that Sword Art Online definitely has its flaws but I don’t think those flaws are bad enough to ruin it entirely.

So what do you all think? Do you love SAO? Hate it? Or are you somewhere in there middle like me? Let me know in the comments.

