Now I’m sure you’ve all come across this scenario in an anime before. You’ve got a group of people. They’ve all been brought together or otherwise connected in some way. But now they all have to fight to the death, because there’s something big to gain for the winner. Though I suppose there doesn’t always have to be a reward at the end. Maybe they have other reasons to fight. Like someone they want to go back to when this whole thing is over, or something they want to protect. Or maybe they’re just fighting because they don’t want to die just yet. Whatever it is, these people are locked in a battle to the death and only one can come out on top. That’s right. I’m talking about survival games. 

So let’s start off with one that I’m sure everyone has heard of. Mirai Nikki, or Future Diary if you want the english title. This one involves a battle royale between 12 people in the fictional city of Sakurami, Japan. Each one has a “diary” that allows them to see what will happen up to 90 days into the future. They’ve been thrown into this battle by Deus Ex Machina, the god of space and time. He is in need of a successor and has decided that the winner of this death game will take his place as god.

So, would I take part in this battle if given the chance? Of course I would. What kind of person would say no? Sure, I would be risking my life and there’s a good chance I wouldn’t survive. I don’t know if I’d even be good at killing the other people, if I could even do it at all. But even with such high stakes I’d have to be crazy to turn something like this down. Sure, I might just end up dead, but the reward in this case is more than worth it. I’d do anything for the chance to get absolute godly power.

Alright, so the next one in the list is Deadman Wonderland. This one starts with the main character Ganta’s entire class being murdered by a strange “red man”. But Ganta was framed for the murders and sent to the prison known as Deadman Wonderland. There he meets a girl named Shiro as well as learning about a new power he has. The ability to use his blood as a weapon. He and other people who have this power are called “deadmen” and are forced to fight each other by the prison’s director. I won’t go any further in explaining though. After all, I don’t want to give out too many spoilers. 

Now, is THIS game one I would want to play? In this case the answer is a clear no. Though I would get some cool powers I don’t think it’s worth all the bad things that come with it. Like being sent to prison when you’re innocent. Or being forced to fight without getting anything out of it. Though none of the deadmen are really there willingly. So if something like Deadman Wonderland was a real thing I likely wouldn’t have a choice. I’d probably end up in a similar situation to Ganta and that’s something I’d like to avoid if at all possible. 

The last anime I’ll talk about today is Btooom. In the world of this anime there is a video game of the same name as the series. It’s much like a first person shooter game. But this game has no guns, only various types of bombs. The main character wakes up in a real life version of the game. But a lot of other people are also there and he’ll have to fight for his life while also looking for a way out. 

Now my answer about whether I would play this death game? Of course I wouldn’t. There’s just nothing to gain. Even if I were to win there isn’t even a hint about what I might get out of it. Now the video game on the other hand, that’s something I’d love to see in real life

Now that I’m done giving my thoughts on this let’s hear what you think. What’s your favorite survival game anime and would you play the game? What’s your favorite survival game anime? Was it one of these or is it a different one? Last thing, did you agree with my thoughts on these anime or did you feel completely different about them? Let me know down in the comments and support me on patreon to see even more, thanks. I’m sorry for being a little late with this post though, I’ll do my best to get the next one out sooner. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in the next one. 

 

