I’m sure everyone knows how easy it is to watch anime and read manga for free. Whether you choose to download it via torrents or simply use a free streaming site. So how are these things such an expensive hobby? 

Well the first thing is that a real anime and manga fan will buy the stuff they read and watch. At least most of the time that is. Sometimes they just can’t afford to do that, like me. Im sure that there are other reasons too but you get the idea. A true fan who wants to support the creators should only use these free sources if they have no other options. That’s only my opinion though. You’re all free to do things however you want.

Second is all the other kinds of merch you can get. There’s stuff like figures, posters and wall scrolls, all kinds of clothing with your favorite characters on it, and tons of other stuff too. But there’s too much dirty me to list everything here so I’ll just talk about the main ones. The figures are probably the most expensive individually, depending on which ones you buy. But other things like the posters and wall scrolls can add up too. Especially if you plan on covering your whole room with them like me. I’m not there yet but someday I will be. Same goes for clothing. Because who doesn’t want to be covered head to toe in clothes with your favorite anime waifus all over them? I know I do.

Last is conventions and all the stuff you do at them. While this does technically include all the merch and stuff that’s but really what I’m talking about here. First you have the convention itself and your hotel room while you’re there. That’s at least a couple hundred dollars right there. Then you also have cosplay. Not everyone does it but the best costumes also cost quite a bit. At least that’s what I assume since I’ve never done any cosplay myself and I try not to talk about things I don’t know anything about.

But the important part isn’t the price. It’s how much you’ll enjoy having the things you buy. So if you see something you like remember to buy first and ask questions later. Just try not to spend money you don’t have if you can help it. 

One last thing just for fun. I’ll try to estimate the amount of money I’ve spent on anime and manga related stuff. I know I’ve spent about 380 dollars on figures. I’ve also got about 19 volumes of manga, 1 light novel, and 1 regular novel. At about 10 dollars per volume that’s 200, plus around 20 for the novel. Then there are all my posters which I’ll just estimate are about 20 dollars apiece. At 7 posters and two wall scrolls that’s about 180 more dollars. I’ve also got seasons 2 through 4 of Initial D which was about 40 dollars. Lastly I have my swords. Archer’s swords from Fate/Stay Night and Kirito’s Dark Repulsor from SAO. About 225 dollars combined. Now if you add all those together you get about $1,150 worth of stuff. I even forgot all my shirts so it’s probably more than that. I have 15 shirts at about 20 dollars each if you feel like doing the math. 

Anyway, thats all for today. I hope you all enjoyed this post. Feel free to tell me what you think in the comments. Even if you just think I’m wasting money on all this stuff. I like what im doing so I’ll keep doing no matter what other people say. If anyone really wants to know what stuff I actually have I might make a post about it if you ask. I just realized that if I had saved all that money instead I could buy myself a new gaming pc right now. But I don’t regret buying any of it. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the post and I’ll see you all in the next one. 

