I’ll bet we’ve all heard of a little anime called WataMote. If you haven’t, then what are you doing here? Go watch it right now and come back to this post when you’re done. It’s about a girl named Tomoko who’s 15 years old and just starting high school. She’s a           shut-in who’s extremely socially awkward. Like she can barely talk to anyone that isn’t her parents or brother. Yet she still tries her hardest to become popular, even though most of the things she tries just fail. You just can’t get through an episode of the anime without cringing, which can make it kinda hard to watch at times. But it’s not a bad show at all, it’s actually one of the better ones I’ve ever seen. It’s not great but not terrible either so let me tell you why I liked it so much.

The main reason is that I just really felt a connection with Tomoko. Because I’ve been through the same things in my life. Just like I’m sure a lot of us have. Because from what I’ve experienced anime fans, and just nerds in general, never had a lot of friends. That includes me too. Sure, I hung out with people in school and stuff but I never felt like I truly made any friends. Probably because I was so bad at talking to people in person. At one point in my life, when I was younger, I was a lot like Tomoko. Couldn’t just easily talk to other people even if I had known them for a while. It may have even been worse for me than it was for her because sometimes it wasn’t even easy for me to talk with people in my own family like my parents and my brother. But over the years I’ve gotten better, not a whole lot but it’s something. I’ve just grown to accept that this is the kind of person I am. I’m a loner who can have a decent, and even fun life without a ton of friends. But that’s enough about me, let’s get on to the rest of the post.

I think there’s a socially awkward person like Tomoko inside all of us. Some people are just a lot better at hiding it than others. I just happen to be one of those people who isn’t so good at hiding it and I think that’s okay. If you’re like me and aren’t very comfortable talking to other people you should just accept it. Now that doesn’t mean you have to be a socially awkward person forever. You just shouldn’t force yourself into any situations just because you think it’ll help you change or make you more popular. Basically, just don’t do the stuff Tomoko does and you should be fine. If you’ve seen watamote then you know how painful it was to watch. All because of how Tomoko was trying to get popular. While it does make for quite a funny series you wouldn’t wan’t to live a life like that would you? Which is why I say you should just go with the flow and take things as they come. If you change they way you want to that’s great. But if not then it just wasn’t meant to be and you’ll be a lot happier if you just accept that like I did. Forcing yourself to do something you don’t want to do rarely ever turns out well.

As always I hope everyone enjoyed this post. Do you agree with me? Or is the way Tomoko does things actually the right way to go about it? Also, I’ve been thinking about writing stories here along with my normal blog posts. Would everyone be okay with that or should I just stick to what I’ve been doing so far. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in the next one.

