Have you ever gotten home after a long day and needed something to relax. Whether you were at school, work, or whatever else it is that you do, an iyashikei anime might be just the thing for you. Iyashikei is Japanese for “healing” and is often used to describe anime that have a healing or relaxing effect on the viewers. These shows are not only about offering an escape from daily worries but about getting the audience into a calming state of mind. They don’t have much in the way of a story, usually falling into the slice-of-life category. But not every slice-of-life is an Iyashikei. The slice-of-life genre also has a lot of comedy series. While there’s nothing wrong with a good comedy, it doesn’t help you relax the same way a good Iyashikei series does.

But you might ask, “If there isn’t any kind of story wouldn’t that be kinda boring?”. With any other kind of anime you would probably be right in saying that. But an iyashikei series isn’t something you watch for the deep and interesting story, if you even really “watch” it at all. I think the perfect way to enjoy one of these anime is to just watch without thinking. If you think too hard you can’t relax, which defeats the whole purpose of watching the show in the first place. Just “turn your brain off” and let the relaxing feeling wash over you. That’s all you need to do to really enjoy one of these anime.

“But what are some iyashikei anime I should watch?” you might be asking. Let’s start off with Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless. I haven’t watched all of this one but I enjoyed what I saw. It’s about Tanaka, a sleepy, lazy, and lethargic high school student. His friend Ohta is always there to make sure he’s okay and can get by living a life like this. But people keep barging in, bringing things like excitement, involvement, and, friendship. Will Tanaka ever be able to get his peaceful life back? Why don’t you watch and find out?

Another one that I hear get brought up a lot is ARIA. I haven’t gotten the chance to watch it myself yet but I’ve heard a lot of good things. This takes place in the future in Neo Venezia, on what used to be mars but was terraformed into a sort of waterworld. Neo Venezia is an exact copy of Earth’s Venice, complete with canals and gondolas. The main character, Akari Mizunashi, is training to become a gondolier tour guide. The series follows her and the Aria Company as well as gondoliers from other companies. I can’t really say much else since I haven’t seen it but everyone who has watched it seems to like it so you should probably check it out too.

Well, that’s it for this post. I guess today was a shorter one. I probably could have written more but I didn’t really feel like I should talk too much about anime I haven’t seen. ARIA was the one exception to that since I’ve heard so much about it from other people. If you do watch either of these I hope you enjoy them, and I hope you look forward to my next post. As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you in the next one.

 

