Do you like horror? Are you perhaps also a fan of mysteries? If you answered yes to both those questions then a little series called Another might be just the thing for you. The story follows the cursed class 3 at North Yomiyama Middle School. 26 years ago a student named Misaki died but even though they were gone everyone in the class kept pretending like they were still there. Then when that year’s graduation photo was taken Misaki was actually there. He had showed up in the picture even though he was dead. After that the class became cursed and every year people who had a connection to the class would die. But luckily they figured out how to stop this. Since there is always an extra person in class(presumably someone who died in previous years), they just have to pick one person in the class and everyone pretends that they don’t exist. But this year a transfer student starts talking to that one person and the curse starts again. In a previous year the curse was stopped in the middle of the year. Will this class be able to do the same? If you want to find out go watch the anime, or read the book. Actually just read the book, in my opinion it’s better than the anime anyways.

Anyway, now that I’ve explained what it’s about, let’s talk about what I thought of it. Another is one of my favorite horror anime. It’s also one of the only ones I’ve seen unless you count stuff like Tokyo Ghoul and Parasyte, which I don’t. I don’t really get scared easily when I’m watching something so I’ve never had many problems with things like this. It’s after I’m done watching it that I start getting scared.

Despite the book being better the anime series has its good parts too. Like how you actually get to see the characters. If you read the book before watching the anime then you get to see someone else’s interpretation of what they look like. But I did it the other way around so when I read the book I just pictured the characters from the anime. It’s fine either way really, how the characters look isn’t what drives the story after all. In fact it rarely, if ever, works like that. What drives the plot is the mystery of the cursed class and whether or not they’ll be able to stop the curse before the year is over. If they can manage that all the remaining people will be saved but if they can’t, who knows how many more will die.

In this year the class actually has a girl in it who is also named Misaki, just like the one who died all those years ago. When she’s first introduced it’s somewhat of a mystery whether she’s even alive or not. Does the fact that only this transfer student can see her mean she’s a ghost, or is there something else going on here? Well she’s not a ghost, I can tell you that much. But why can’t anyone else see her, you may ask? The thing about that is that they actually can see her. But remember what I said about preventing the curse from activating? This Misaki is the one that they’re all pretending doesn’t exist. Since Sakakibara transferred in late he didn’t know about the curse and started talking to Misaki anyway.

The class tries acting like he doesn’t exist either but it doesn’t work. Of course, I never really expected it to work. If it had there wouldn’t have been a story right? Anyway, several deaths later and after figuring out how to stop the curse it’s time for the class trip. They go to a lodge in the mountains and after the place is set on fire and several more people die, Misaki and Sakakibara finally put an end to the curse, by killing the extra person.

But who was the extra person? Well I’m not going to tell you that, just know that it probably won’t be who you’re expecting. Or maybe it will, who knows. But despite all the blood and gore, and the deaths, it was still quite the enjoyable show for me. One of the only things that bothered me was that they felt the need to put in a beach episode. Someone still died at the beach so it wasn’t completely out of place but it didn’t advance the plot at all so it really didn’t need to be there. The novel didn’t have that part in it which was probably why I liked it so much more. Seriously, just go read the book instead of watching this anime. Or if you must watch it at least read the book first.

But if you don’t blood and gore, people dying, or just horror series in general, I can’t really recommend this series to you. You’ll have to make do with just the book then. The book’s better anyway so that’s fine by me. If that stuff doesn’t bother you then still read the book first. I wish I would have done that, or maybe not, maybe I wouldn’t have like the anime as much if I had read the book first. I guess it’s really up to you which one you do first, you don’t have to take my advice. But overall I would recommend this anime, but not to just anyone. After all, not everyone likes horror movies. So it stands to reason that there would be some people that dislike horror anime as well.

Anyway, that’s all for this one. I didn’t get into the music or the animation because I didn’t really feel like there was much to talk about there. The animation and art was average and if any of the music had stood out to me I would probably remember it now. The soundtrack wasn’t out of place or anything but it wasn’t all that memorable either. But I’d still recommend Another to any horror anime fans that haven’t already seen it. Which, now that I think about it, proabably isn’t a lot of you. Another was one of the first horror anime I saw and I would assume the same is probably true for a lot of people. Or maybe not, I really have no idea. Well, I hope you liked this and I’ll see you in the next one.

