I figured now’s as good a time as any to do something like this. Most of the anime this season have already aired 1-2 episodes. All the ones that I plan on watching have already aired their first episodes so how about some first impressions? Also, you probably shouldn’t read this unless you’ve already seen these anime. Unless you don’t care about spoilers, now let’s get into this.

Let’s start with Kakegurui. So there’s this private school for the rich, though it isn’t what you’d call a normal school. Because for these students, athletics and book smarts aren’t nearly as important as reading your opponent, the art of the deal. So essentially it’s a show that revolves around gambling. Status at this school depends on how good you are at gambling, so if you find yourself there you better hope you’re a good gambler or you’ll have a pretty bad time. It’s too early to know all that much about the characters but so far I like the main girl Yumeko Jabami.

Next is a series called Knights & Magic. It’s another one of those anime where the main character ends up in a fantasy world somehow. In this case the guy is a mecha otaku who’s reincarnated into a fantasy world where there are these robots powered by magic called silhouette knights. Dreaming of piloting one of these robots he starts learning magic and turns out to be really good at it. So good in fact that he manages to skip straight to middle school classes at the magic academy. On a training exercise he steals a silhouette knight and defeats a huge demon beast. Probably not the show for everyone and if you don’t enjoy your generic light novel adaptations then you probably won’t like this one either. For me though, I really enjoy these anime where for whatever reason the main character is at least somewhat overpowered. But maybe that’s just because I usually watch them weekly and the cliffhangers at the ends of episodes keep me coming back.

Next is Aho Girl, so far one of my favorite comedy anime this season. About a really stupid girl named Yoshiko and her childhood friend who has to deal with all the ridiculous stuff she does. I definitely would recommend it if you’re looking for a good comedy this season.

Next is another one of those shows where a guy gets reincarnated into a fantasy world. This one is called  Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni, and it’s about a boy who dies because of god’s mistake so he gets reincarnated into another world and god lets him keep his smart phone. Though he can’t directly interact with his original world he can still read things and watch videos from that world. Anyway, this is another anime with an overpowered main character, at least that’s the way it seems like things will turn out. He can use all seven types of magic, something that’s practically unheard of in this world. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next episode.

Lastly there’s Hajimete no Gal, probably the series I was most looking forward to this season. The main character, Junichi, has been forced into confessing to the gyaru Yame Yukana. But things don’t go the way anyone expected them to and she actually ends up saying yes and agreeing to go out with Junichi. I mean, I kinda saw that coming but the characters in the anime didn’t.

There are a few anime that I didn’t mention here but the ones I did talk about are the ones I’m most likely to keep watching for the whole season. I can’t say whether you guys will like the same things but I hope I was able to help you find at least one thing to watch this season. Anyway, I hope you all liked this and I’ll see you in the next one.

